Hi guys! 

Sorry for the little delay in publishing this post. I had a project I was working on,  I had to make some dresses for a retail shop. I made about 6 pieces of a particular style. I’ll post some pictures of the project sometime later. But, you can also view the pictures here  my latest project or direct link

Okay! Okay!! I won’t bore you with all my stories haha! :mrgreen: let’s just get straight to the topic of today HOW TO SEW: TAKING MEASUREMENTS. 

Taking  measurements is an essential skill you have to get when learning how to sew.

 Measurements involve getting the size in inches of various parts of the body of the individual you are sewing for. It may be taking measurements for yourself, someone else or even another dress. 

I use INCHES when taking measurements with my MEASURING TAPE. 
SO, there are 2 categories when taking measurements. 

  1.  HORIZONTAL MEASUREMENTS. ➡
  2.  VERTICAL MEASUREMENTS.

On HOW TO SEW: TAKING MEASUREMENTS Today, I’ll be writing about the HORIZONTAL MEASUREMENTS. 

These are MEASUREMENTS taken around the individual measuring from side to side. There are several sites of the body in which the horizontal measurements are taken. 

They are listed below. 

  1. Shoulder length short. 
  2. Shoulder length long. Usually measured at the back. 
  3. Chest width. Usually used when sewing tube dresses. 
  4. Bust width. usually measured at the nipple area. 
  5. Below bust width. usually the narrowest part of the body. 
  6. Waist width. Usually measured at the navel. 
  7. Hip width. Measured at the hips. 

Please view attached picture to correspond the numbers with the body location. 


I’m soo excited 🙌  you’re on your way to making your own dress. I hope you are getting the items you’ll need to start sewing. 

Your comments are highly appreciated. 

Don’t forget to FOLLOW my blog Mobiletailor: how to sew. Share and also like my posts. 

Thank you. 

NEXT IS➡ HOW TO SEW: VERTICAL MEASUREMENTS. 

 


 

