Hope y’all are having a great day? Mmmmm my day was packed full with activities from getting my 5 year old daughter ready for school to caring for her 9month old brother and also trying to cut out, sew and deliver a garment (customer wanted her dress today!) which she’s not suppose to get until Thursday.):😠. But, oh well… She got her dress today and was so happy;).  While I was exhausted. 

But that won’t stop by from posting my next post.. Haha 😁,  although I’m feeling 😴😴😴. 

“>. 
OK THEN! STRAIGHT TO THE POINT!!  BEFORE I DOSE OFF WHILE TYPING😎.. . 

Well, it’s time for my next post… . HOW TO SEW:TAKING VERTICAL MEASUREMENTS. 
 I’m sure you have all had enough time to acquaint yourselves with TAKING HORIZONTAL MEASUREMENTS. Now it’s time for VERTICAL MEASUREMENTS. 

Vertical Measurements are measurements taken from TOP TO BOTTOM when measuring an individual or copying another garment pattern.  

Kindly view attached photo so you’ll see what I’m writing about. 

These vertical measurements are taken from the shoulder down to the part where you took horizontal measurements. 

Don’t get it twisted learning how to sew is soo easy!  I tell you. 

Just follow my steps and you’re good to go. 

So, here are the corresponding names /labels to the numbers in the photo. 

HORIZONTAL MEASUREMENTS:

  1.  NECK DEPTH.  Measured from shoulder to desired neck cut. 
  2. SHOULDER TO CHEST LENGTH. as the name implies. 
  3. SHOULDER TO BUST LENGTH 
  4. SHOULDER TO BELOW BUST LENGTH. 
  5. SHOULDER TO WAIST LENGTH. 
  6. SHOULDER TO HIP LENGTH.
  7.  GOWN LENGTH. Measured from shoulder to desired gown length. 
  8. ARM HOLE LENGTH. usually a constant 9 INCHES. 

Please take your time to review this post. You can practice on people around you. 

These measurements can be used for both children and adults.

I had to come up with these measuring tips because it’s as basic as can be. I don’t think you’d encounter any difficulty when taking these measurements and cutting out patterns with them. 

NEXT POST 🔜 HOW TO SEW:MEASURING SLEEVES.

I hope you enjoyed it. Don’t forget to ask questions and contribute by posting a comment below the post.

  Remember to follow, like and share my blog blogsite

Also you can visit my Facebook page mobiletailor

“>. 
 Thank you. . 

Mobiletailor. 

